African Countries and their Independence Days.

Brief History of colonization: In the 17th century AD, European countries scrambled for and partitioned Africa. This continued until around 1905, by which time all the lands and resources of the continent of Africa had been completely divided and colonized by European countries. The only country that couldn't be colonized due to strong resistance by the indigenes was Ethiopia, and Liberia which was a place for freed slaves from the Americas.

Independence: The struggle for independence started after World War II. This led to the independence of the Union of South Africa in 1931 through negotiations with the British Empire and Libya in 1951 from Italy; followed by others in the late 1950s. The road to African independence was very hard and tortuous often through bloody fights, revolts and assassinations. For example; Britain unilaterally granted "The Kingdom of Egypt" independence on Feb. 22nd 1922 after a series of revolts, but continued to interfere in government. More violent revolts led to the signing of the Anglo-Egyptian treaty in 1936 and a coupe d'état tagged Egyptian Revolution in 1952 finally culminated in the Egyptian Republic declaration of June 18th; 1953. The peak year for independence came in 1960 when about 17 countries gained independence. These independence days are now celebrated as national day holidays in most countries of Africa.

List of all African countries and their Independence Days, colonial names and former colonizers.

COUNTRY	INDEPENDENCE DAY	COLONIAL NAME	COLONIAL RULERS
Algeria	July 5th, 1962		France
Angola	November 11th; 1975		Portugal
Benin	August 1st; 1960		French
Botswana	September 30th, 1966		Britain
Burkina Faso	August 5; 1960		France
Burundi	July 1st; 1962		Belgium
Cameroon	January 1st; 1960		French-administered UN trusteeship
Cape Verde	July 5th; 1975		Portugal
C.A.R	August 13th; 1960		France
Chad	August 11th, 1960		France
Comoros	July 6th; 1975		France
Congo	August 15th; 1960		France
Congo DR	June 30th; 1960		Belgium
Cote d'Ivoire	August 7th; 1960		France
Djibouti	June 27th; 1977		France
Egypt	February 28th, 1922		Britain

Eq Guinea	October 12; 1968		Spain
Eritrea	May 24th; 1993		Ethiopia
Ethiopia	over 2000 years, Never colonized	(formerly) Kingdom of Aksum	
Gabon	August 17th; 1960		France
Gambia	February 18th; 1965		Britain
Ghana	6 March 1957	Gold Coast	Britain
Guinea	October 2nd; 1958		France
Guinea Bissau	10 September 1974 24 September 1973		Portugal
Kenya	December 12th, 1963		Britain
Lesotho	October 4th; 1966		Britain
Liberia	July 26th; 1847		American colonization Society
Libya	December 24; 1951		Italy
Madagascar	June 26th; 1960		France
Malawi	July 6th; 1964		Britain
Mali	September 22nd; 1960		France
Mauritania	November 28th; 1960		France
Mauritius	March 12th, 1968		Britain
Morocco	March 2nd; 1956		France
Mozambique	June 25th; 1975		Portugal
Namibia	March 21st; 1990		South African mandate
Niger	August 3rd; 1960		France
Nigeria	October 1st, 1960		Britain
Rwanda	July 1st; 1962		Belgium administered UN trusteeship
SaoTomePrincipe	July 12th; 1975		Portugal
Senegal	April 4th; 1960		France
Seychelles	June 29th; 1976		Britain
Sierra Leone	April 27th; 1961		Britain
Somalia	July 1st; 1960	British Somaliland Italian Somaliland	Britain Italy
South Africa	11 December 1931, April 1994(end of apartheid)	Union of South Africa	Britain

Sudan	January 1st; 1956	Egypt, Britain
Swaziland	September 6th; 1968	Britain
Tanzania	April 26th, 1964	Britain
Togo	April 27th; 1960	French administered UN trusteeship
Tunisia	March 20th; 1956	France
Uganda	October 9th; 1962	Britain
Zambia	October 24th; 1964	Britain
Zimbabwe	April 18th; 1980	Britain